Green Curry Tofu with Coconut Rice

2

January 3, 2013 by Cory Bellamy

One of my favorite international dishes is Thai Green Curry! I love it when it’s cold or when I feel under the weather. It’s sweet and mild and goes great with sweet coconut rice. When I found this recipe in Cooking Light Magazine, I was amazed at how simple it was to make. It’s also a really great dish to try tofu in if you’re not sure about your stance on tofu. The tofu melds with the texture and flavors of everything else in the dish that you don’t really notice it too much.

I made this for dinner last night for Jackie and I, and it’s delicious! Waaay tasty. I’ve posted the recipe below with what I used to make it, but you can add more veggies if you want like snap or snow peas, water chestnuts, etc. Feel free to make it your own! If you try it, please let me know how it turned out!

IMG_4115[1]

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked jasmine rice
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 1 12oz package extra-firm tofu cut into 1/2 in cubes
  • 2 tbs canola or olive oil
  • 2 cups of green beans cut in 2 in pieces
  • 1 small eggplant cut into 1/2 in cubes
  • 1 red bell pepper thinly sliced
  • 3 tbs soy sauce
  • 2 tbs green curry paste
  • 2 tsp brownsugar
  • 1 lime zested
  • basil leaves thinly sliced (optional)

Directions:

  1. Mix rice and coconut milk in rice cooker and cook until tender.
  2. Place tofu cubes onto layers of paper towels for 4-5 minutes to drain water. Press firmly once before removing from paper towels.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat with 1 tablespoon of oil. Add tofu and saute 5 minutes until golden brown or desired doneness. Remove tofu from pan.
  4. Add 1 tablespoon oil to pan and add green beans, bell pepper, and eggplant. Saute 3-5 minutes until veggies begin to become tender. Stir periodically.
  5. Add curry paste and cook for 30 seconds stirring constantly.
  6. Add soy sauce, broth, lime zest, and sugar. Cook another 5minutes stirring periodically.
  7. Place cooked tofu into skillet with veggies and cook another minute to bring flavors together.
  8. Top with thin slices of fresh basil. Serve hot.

This recipe serves 2-3 healthy portions. I like to mix my curry and rice together. I also like to have a wedge of lime to squirt on top of my dish as I eat.

For non-vegans you can sub chicken or beef for the tofu.

I hope you enjoy this recipe!

-Cory

2 thoughts on “Green Curry Tofu with Coconut Rice

  1. sweetveg says:

    Looks incredible!! How much curry paste? I’m not seeing it in the recipe. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

