Vegan Bagels! Hooray!

3

January 11, 2013 by Cory Bellamy

One of my favorite breakfast items, as of late, is bagels. I love a good bagel and coffee for breakfast. My favorite place to grab a bagel is the chain Einstein Brothers Bagels. They’re a chain restaurant based in Colorado, with a wonderful selection of bagels. They have everything from your plain bagel to chocolate chip bagels to asiago cheese bagels. When Jackie and I became vegans, I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to enjoy their plethora of bagels anymore. It was a little sad to be honest. However, I visited the Einstein Bros website today, and there it was, the answer to my problem. They have on their website a complete list of all of their bagels, and other offerings, and if they contain any of the 8 most common food allergies, including milk and eggs (the only two I was concerned about)! And to my great surprise and overall happiness, only 6 of their 25 bagels are made with either milk or eggs! What a wonderful surprise. Needless to say, I jumped in my car and drove over to the nearest one and grabbed a bagel topped with peanut butter and the best darn coffee I’ve ever had.

The only downside, and believe me it’s a very very small downside, is that 98% of their bagel toppings (cream cheese, etc) is not vegan. My only options there are peanut butter or peanut butter and jelly. Which brings up the question for you other vegans: What do you think of vegan cream cheese? I’ve seen it in Whole Foods, but have yet to buy it. Before I do, is it worth it? How does it compare flavor and texture-wise?

Regardless of the toppings, I was very much delighted to find out my favorite bagels are vegan. Today is definitely on the positive side.

 

For those who love bagels and live near an Einsteins, click here to find out all of their nutritional info on their menu.

Thanks again for reading!

-Cory

3 thoughts on “Vegan Bagels! Hooray!

  1. Bridget says:

    I really like both Tofutti’s vegan cream cheese options and Go Veggie. In fact, I recently ate nearly a whole tub of Tofutti’s Chive and Garlic cream cheese using it as a dip for water crackers. So, I say give it a shot. And even if you don’t like the taste of slathering it all over a bagel, you can always use it in a vegan recipe. Good luck!

  2. Tofutti cream cheese is bang on.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

