Vegan Tofu Scramble

1

January 28, 2013 by Cory Bellamy

One of my favorite brunch items at Green Vegetarian Cuisine is their Vegan Migas. It’s a vegan take on a very popular Mexican breakfast made of eggs, bell pepper, onion, tomato, and tortilla strips. I’ve found that the vegan migas is a great substitute for any eggs lovers who like scrambled eggs.

The simple recipe is this:

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of firm or extra firm tofu drained of water- squeeze out water by placing in a paper/kitchen towel and squeezing firmly
  • 1 bell peper
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 small yellow or white onion
  • 3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast (gives the yellow color to the tofu)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 3-4 corn tortillas cut into small strips
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

  1. Dice tomato, onion, and bell pepper.
  2. Heat oil over medium high heat. Add diced veggies and cook 3 minutes.
  3. Add in tortilla strips and cook another 3 minutes or until strips begin to brown.
  4. Crumble in tofu and add seasoning. Cook 3-5 minutes more, stirring often to combine seasoning with all of the ingredients.
  5. Enjoy!

Green serves this with corn tortillas and a side of black beans and hash-browns. I also like to add a slice of avocado or two to add some creaminess to the tacos.

One of the reasons this is my favorite brunch dish at Green is that it doesn’t taste vegan. It satisfies my desire to have eggs and actually tastes way better than any scrambled eggs I’ve ever had. I think this is a super easy dish that any vegan, including new ones, would enjoy.

I would have taken some pictures this morning when I made it, but my kitchen was a mess, and I was dragging a bit this morning so pictures were a bit of an after thought. Sorry. I’ll update this the next time I make it.

 

Thanks for reading!

-Cory

One thought on “Vegan Tofu Scramble

  1. Bridget says:

    Yum. Can’t wait to turn the tofu sitting in my fridge into this meal. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

