Two Month Old Vegans

Leave a comment

March 1, 2013 by Cory Bellamy

We’ve reached our two month goal of eating a vegan diet!

We set out to try a vegan diet for two months for a few reasons, most of which was health related, and as of today we’ve reached our 2 month goal. Later this month, hopefully sooner rather than later, we will be getting our blood work done to see the impact our short term vegan diet had on things like our cholesterol. This is something important to Jackie and I, but for different reasons. Jackie had preliminary blood work done late last year and realized that she needed to lower her cholesterol. I on the other hand haven’t had blood work done in a while, so I’m not sure where I stand, BUT Whole Foods has an employee program for tiered discounts based on several categories of health, including cholesterol. I’m shooting for the highest discount of 30% off in store purchases.

Over the past two months, Jackie and I have realized that a vegan diet is manageable and satisfying. It’s not near as hard as people think it is. It was also a bit freeing in that we had to find new food to eat, we couldn’t live on PB&J sandwiches for two months. We ventured out and tried seemingly weird foods like vegan salami, vegan grilled cheese, and Vietnamese tofu sandwiches. As a matter of fact, last night I celebrated two months as a vegan with a vegan chicken fried steak.

“A what?”

A vegan chicken fried steak. It’s wheat meat (wheat formed into meat like patties) that’s been chicken fried and topped with brown gravy. I honestly didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I ordered it, but it turned out quite satisfying. It went really well with the onion rings we had as an appetizer.

20130301-103849.jpg

So now that we’ve reached our goal, we had to have the talk about what’s next. Do we continue on a vegan diet (I mean we did title our blog Wholly Vegan…) or do we reconsider our food choices and go a different route. The verdict was this. We will maintain as much of a vegan diet as possible, but in any instance where we can’t be vegan, we will opt for vegetarian instead. For instance, when eating with friends or when on vacation. We’ve also decided that if we decide to buy cheese or some kind of dairy, that we’re going to try and keep it as local as possible, as we believe that that may limit the possibility of supporting factory farming. So I guess you could call us mostly vegan.

I will continue to use the blog as a place for sharing cool vegan recipes and other fun vegan stuffs, so please keep reading. đŸ™‚ We do have some other life changing things happening in the next two months, so there will be more to share here in the not so distant future.

In the next few months, I would like to meet up with some other vegans and break some vegan bread. I’d like to know about their vegan journey, ask them why and for how long, and find out their favorite thing to eat.

At the end of this month I will be running my second half marathon (first one was October 2012 BV…before vegan), but it will be my first on a vegan diet. Last year I ran at a pace of 9:17 per mile; this year my goal is 9:00 flat. I’ve set a life goal of 50 before I’m 50. 50 half marathons in 25 years seems doable, and if nothing else its a fun challenge just like a vegan diet!

Thanks again for reading!

-Cory

Leave a Reply

