Gardein BBQ Pulled Shreds Sandwich

Leave a comment

May 14, 2013 by Cory Bellamy

As I mentioned in the last post, Jackie and I are moving to Nashville soon, and one of the things that Tennessee is known for is BBQ (along with country music). Now, I don’t know about you, but I can’t envision many Vegan dishes starting with the word barbeque. I’m sure there’s probably a BBQ Tofu Steak recipe somewhere, but that’s a bit outside of my realm of enjoyable. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy tofu in a stir-fry or as a component of a recipe, but I can imagine cutting into a block of tofu and eating like a steak. That being said, if you have a great vegan BBQ recipe, I’m open to hearing about it, so long as it’s not the aforementioned Tofu Steak…just typing that name makes me shudder.

I digress.

Anyway, I was grocery shopping at Whole Foods last week and stumbled upon This lovely package from Gardein.IMG_0170[1]

I’ve tried a few different Gardein vegan dishes like their Seven Grain Crispy Tenders and their Chick’n Scallopini. Much to my surprise, I’m actually quite fond of both of those chicken substitute dishes, especially the Seven Grain Crispy Tenders. Gardein has made a meatless product that has a texture very similar to the real thing, and for the most part has a taste that’s comparable. With this history, I was excited to give the BBQ from Gardein a try.

So I popped the microwaveable package in the microwave for 2:30 as per the instructions and then loaded it on my hamburger bun and plated it with some sea salt potato chips. It smelled like BBQ and looked like BBQ, but how did it taste?

IMG_0171[1]

Just like their mock chicken, the BBQ has a great texture for a meatless product. It was the right balance of chewy and tender. But, the BBQ sauce was less than tasty. I was expecting a slightly sweet and tangy sauce that was worth licking off of your fingers when it runs of your bun, but the sauce was more tomato-y in flavor. Now I must admit, I don’t really know what makes up a typical bottle of BBQ sauce, so therefore I don’t know if they’re typically a vegan product. If not, I can kind of understand that there’s going to be a flavor difference in a vegan bottle as opposed to the conventional sauce. I also understand that there are many different opinions on what BBQ sauce should taste like, and therefore I would still recommend this product to any vegan looking to please their BBQ pleasure center. Everyone has one right?

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

